Read-only access

Read-only access gives webmasters control to stop individuals from doing anything other than consuming content on their site. 

This might be while an investigation runs its course, or it could be the outcome of an investigation, where an individual is banned from interacting with other colleagues for 6 months.

The process is manual and done by webmasters in Administration, it can be done and undone in a matter of minutes. 

Here’s how it works: 

As a webmaster…

To apply read-only access to a user or users.

  1. Go to ‘Administration’ from the workbar
  2. Locate ‘People & Teams’ category and the subcategory ‘User settings’
  3. Select ‘Read-only access’
  4. Select ‘Add user’ or ‘Add another user’
  5. In the ‘User’ field, search and select the appropriate username
  6. Select ‘Save’
  7. You will be notified that you’re removing the ‘following roles and permission from the following people: …’
  8.  Select ‘Confirm’
  9. The user will appear the table titled: ‘Users with read-only access’

To remove read-only access from a user or users.

  1. Go to ‘Administration’ from the workbar
  2. Locate ‘People & Teams’ category and the subcategory ‘User settings’
  3. Select ‘Read-only access’
  4. Select ‘Remove’ beneath the appropriate user

Be aware, users are not notified they have read-only access. You might want to update them about the circumstances that led to this decision, and whether it is permanent or temporary.

      0 Comments

      Leave a Reply