Distributed Publishing

What is a distributed publishing model?

Distributed publishing shares the responsibility for producing content across your enterprise.

Individual sections can have their own publishing teams comprised of authors, editors and publishers, and as a result, the specialists in specific areas take control. 

Global authors, editors and publishers can still create, edit and manage content across the entire intranet, however the pressure and workload on their part is greatly reduced.

Implementing a distributed publishing model

Section roles are the local roles referred to above. Once you’ve created a section, go to manage that section in options and you’ll find roles and permissions.

When you add a member and then add a role to them, they become a part of your local publishing team with publishing powers.

The section roles and their publishing powers are as follows:

Publishing Role Permissions
Section Author
  • Create all types of content in a section and related subsections
  • Set content to ‘Needs Review’ in the workflow, which notifies a section editor
  • Edit their own content but not anyone else’s
Section Editor
  • Create all types of content in a section and related subsections
  • Set content to ‘Reviewed’ in the workflow, which notifies a section publisher
  • Edit any content within their section(s)
Section Publisher
  • Create all types of content in  a section and related sub-sections
  • Set content to ‘Published’ in the workflow, publishing the content
  • Delete any content within their section(s)
Section Content Reviewer
  • Receive email notifications for content nearing its review date within their section(s)
Section Manager
  • Create, edit and delete sections
  • Access Edit Menu for design and configuration purposes within their  section(s)

All of these local roles will help you establish distributed publishing in your enterprise.

Note that a user can have two roles. So a section publisher can also be a section manager if someone needs to have the permissions of both roles.

Managing members in sections:

1. Go to your section

2. Select the overflow menu

3. Select ‘Manage members’

4. Select ‘Add user’ and add a user or go to the ‘Team’ tab and add an entire team to a section

5. Add or remove roles by checking the box next to a user(s) name

6. Select one of the following options in the ‘Action’ dropdown menu:

  • Add role(s)
  • Remove role(s)
  • Remove member(s)

6. Select ‘Next’

7. Choose ‘Role’ and select ‘Next’

8. Select ‘Confirm’

0 Comments