Roles and permissions

Roles determine what you can access and do on Invotra.

Global roles — User Types

Organisational users

  • View published sections
  • View published content types
  • Access the following pages:
    • Sections
    • Content types
    • Directory
    • Org chart
    • Team chart
    • Feed
    • Notifications
    • Search
    • Workplace — My content
    • Profile pages
    • Activity logs
    • The following apps:
      • Groups
      • Message wall
      • Blogs
      • Ideas
      • Queries
  • Create the following:
    • Groups
    • Messages
    • Ideas
    • Queries
    • Tickets
  • Access the organisational user text format
  • Report comments as inappropriate
  • Report messages as inappropriate
  • @mention other users
  • Edit profile and account settings

External users


External users have the most basic access. Here’s what you need to know about external users and their permissions.

All of the apps mentioned above can have an icon assigned to them. This icon will appear on the app landing page. To configure the app icons:

  1. Navigate to Invotra admin as a Webmaster
  2. Under ‘App Settings’ -> ‘Customise apps’ select ‘App icons’
  3. Upload an image for each app that you would like to have an icon. This is optional for all apps.

Global roles — Essential administration

Webmaster

The highest privileges of any user, webmasters can do everything listed here except for ghostwriting.

  • Access the webmaster text format
  • Access all pages within Invotra admin
  • Access, edit and delete all content types, sections, comments and files
  • Edit all user profiles and account settings
  • View all groups regardless of privacy setting

Section manager

  • Create sections
  • Edit any section
  • Delete any section
  • Manage section members and local roles
  • Manage section teams
  • Access the author text format

Brand manager

  • Access branding options in Invotra admin:
    • Colours
    • Font
    • Font face
    • Footer
    • Logo & favicon
    • Mobile
    • Widget branding

Content layout manager

  • Access templates in Invotra admin
  • Create templates
  • Edit templates
  • Delete templates

Location administrator

  • Access locations in Invotra admin
  • Create location
  • Edit locations
  • Delete locations

Moderator

  • Manage publishing comments that need review
  • Review reported comments
  • Delete any comment
  • Access unpublished comments, reported comments in workplace 

Global roles — App administration

Ideas administrator

  • Publish and unpublish ideas
  • Create, edit and delete idea statuses
  • Create, edit and delete idea categories
  • Access ideas app in Invotra admin
  • View ideas in any state
  • Configure ideas submission form
  • Create and view administrator comments
  • Export ideas

Queries administrator

  • Publish and unpublish queries
  • Create, edit and delete query statuses
  • Create, edit and delete query categories
  • Access queries app in Invotra admin
  • View queries in any state
  • Configure queries submission form
  • Create and view administrator comment
  • Export queries

Global roles — Content management

Blogger

  • Create and publish blogs
  • Delete blogs

Author

  • Create the following items up to ‘needs review’ in the workflow:
    • Page
    • News
    • Policy
    • Manual
    • Webform
    • Promotion
    • List
    • Custom
    • Gallery
    • Multimedia
  • Clone content
  • View unpublished content
  • Edit their own content
  • Access the following  in workplace – all content, needs review, archived content, reviewed
  • Access the author text format

Editor

Everything an author can do as well as:

  • Edit others’ content
  • Set workflow state to ‘reviewed’

Publisher

Everything an editor can do as well as:

  • Delete any content
  • Set workflow state to ‘published’
  • Edit and delete all files
  • Access the files in workplace
  • Moderate messages on the message wall

 

Content reviewer

Receive emails if content is 31 days and 3 days away from its review date. The same emails are sent to the content owner and author.

 

 Previewer

  • Enable and disable preview mode 
  • View unpublished sections 
  • View unpublished content types
  • View the latest version of sections and content types displayed in widgets, even if they’re unpublished

 Ghostwriter

  • Makes ‘authored by’ visible of the 
  • Change author

Local roles — Content management

Local roles have the same permissions as their namesake global roles but are restricted to a section and any related sections.

 

  • Section manager
  • Section moderator
  • Section publisher
  • Section editor
  • Section author
  • Section content reviewer

 

With local roles, distribute power to users based on their responsibilities and expertise. You will need to assign the correct roles to people in your section so they can help you write, edit, review and manage content.

 

A user can be assigned multiple roles but this should be limited to what is required for them to do their job. It will also make it easier for you to track what they can and can’t do.

 

Section managers: Make any changes to content or content types within a section, this includes widgets and layouts. Add and remove permissions for a specific area. 

 

Publishers: Create, change or edit any content in a section. This includes content types that have been created or edited by other users. Move content types between stages of the workflow, e.g. draft, needs review, reviewed and published.

 

Editors: Review content types to make sure it is well written, mistake free and accurate. View content within a section only. Edit content and change workflow to ‘Reviewed’. Unable to publish.

 

Authors: Create content types to be reviewed. Edit or delete own content, however unable to review or publish content types. Useful if you have lots of contributors but you want to control quality of work before it is live.

 

The following rules apply to section editors, publishers and content reviewers who all receive email notifications in the Workflow process. 

 

  • When content changes from ‘Draft’ to ‘Needs review’ the Section editor receives a notification email.
  • When content changes from ‘Needs review’ to ‘Reviewed’ the Section publisher receives a notification email.
  • When content changes back to ‘Draft’ the Section author of the content receives a notification email.

0 Comments

Leave a Reply